Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort ascending
Welland, City of Opted-in -
Pembroke, City of Opted-in -
Oliver Paipoonge, Municipality of Opted-in -
Mattawa, Town of Opted-in -
Essex, Town of Opted-in -
North Kawartha, Township of Opted-in -
Brock, Township of Opted-in -
Horton, Township of Opted-in -
Mattawan, Township of Opted-in -
Englehart, Town of Opted-in -
Magnetawan, Municipality of Opted-in -
Charlton and Dack, Municipality of Opted-in -
Val Rita-Harty, Township of Opted-in -
Southwest Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
Greater Napanee, Town of Opted-in -
Laurentian Hills, Town of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Cambridge, City of Opted-in -
Huron East, Municipality of Opted-in -
St. Marys, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey