Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Blind River, Town of Opted-in -
North Huron, Township of Opted-in Mon, 01/21/2019
Otonabee-South Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-in -
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in -
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -
Bayham, Municipality of Opted-in -
Waterloo, City of Opted-in -
Amherstburg, Town of Opted-in -
South-West Oxford, Township of Opted-in -
Selwyn, Township of Opted-in -
Shelburne, Town of Opted-in -
Parry Sound, Town of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
North Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Ottawa, City of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
Mattice-Val Côté, Township of Opted-in -
Iroquois Falls, Town of Opted-in -
South Dundas, Municipality of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey