Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Vaughan, City of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Milton, Town of Opted-in -
Zorra, Township of Opted-in -
Loyalist, Township of Opted-in -
Champlain, Township of Opted-in -
Cavan Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Township of Opted-in -
South Bruce, Municipality of Opted-in -
Clarington, Municipality of Opted-in -
Kitchener, City of Opted-in -
Sundridge, Village of Opted-in -
Aurora, Town of Opted-in -
Centre Hastings, Municipality of Opted-in -
Goderich, Town of Opted-in -
Elliot Lake, City of Opted-in -
Nipigon, Township of Opted-in -
Coleman, Township of Opted-in -
North Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
St. Thomas, City of Opted-in -
Norfolk County Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey