Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Limerick, Township of Opted-in -
Mississauga, City of Opted-in -
Nairn and Hyman, Township of Opted-in -
South-West Oxford, Township of Opted-in -
Shelburne, Town of Opted-in -
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-in -
Waterloo, City of Opted-in -
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -
Selwyn, Township of Opted-in -
Bayham, Municipality of Opted-in -
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in -
Amherstburg, Town of Opted-in -
Iroquois Falls, Town of Opted-in -
South Dundas, Municipality of Opted-in -
Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards, Township of Opted-in -
Parry Sound, Town of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
North Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Port Hope, Municipality of Opted-in -
Ottawa, City of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey