Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Killarney, Municipality of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Baldwin, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/17/2019
Frontenac Islands, Township of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Emo, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
St. Clair, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Georgian Bluffs, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Conmee, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Mapleton, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Pickering, City of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Sables-Spanish Rivers, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Norwich, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Plympton-Wyoming, Town of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Clearview, Township of Opted-out Mon, 01/07/2019
Powassan, Municipality of Opted-out Tue, 12/18/2018
Chapple, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/15/2019
LaSalle, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
King, Township of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Casselman, Village of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Town of Opted-out Mon, 12/17/2018
Severn, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019

Pages

Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey