Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort ascending
Parry Sound, Town of Opted-in -
Loyalist, Township of Opted-in -
Marathon, Town of Opted-in -
Cavan Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Township of Opted-in -
Selwyn, Township of Opted-in -
Mattice-Val Côté, Township of Opted-in -
Grand Valley, Town of Opted-in -
South Dundas, Municipality of Opted-in -
Clarington, Municipality of Opted-in -
Huron-Kinloss, Township of Opted-in -
Centre Hastings, Municipality of Opted-in -
Armstrong, Township of Opted-in -
Elliot Lake, City of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
North Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
New Tecumseth, Town of Opted-in -
St. Thomas, City of Opted-in -
Kawartha Lakes, City of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey