Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Opted-in -
Tudor and Cashel, Township of Opted-in -
Midland, Town of Opted-in -
Temiskaming Shores, City of Opted-in -
Gananoque, Town of Opted-in -
Spanish, Town of Opted-in -
Lucan Biddulph, Township of Opted-in -
Clarington, Municipality of Opted-in -
Kitchener, City of Opted-in -
Milton, Town of Opted-in -
Cobalt, Town of Opted-in -
Loyalist, Township of Opted-in -
Champlain, Township of Opted-in -
Cavan Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Township of Opted-in -
South Bruce, Municipality of Opted-in -
Bancroft, Town of Opted-in -
Sundridge, Village of Opted-in -
Aurora, Town of Opted-in -
Centre Hastings, Municipality of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey