Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Georgian Bluffs, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Conmee, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Mapleton, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Sables-Spanish Rivers, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Norwich, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Plympton-Wyoming, Town of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Red Rock, Township of Opted-in -
Huntsville, Town of Opted-in -
Ajax, Town of Opted-in -
Scugog, Township of Opted-in -
North Algona Wilberforce, Township of Opted-in -
Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls, Township of Opted-in -
Laird, Township of Opted-in -
Russell, Township of Opted-in -
Head, Clara and Maria, Township of Opted-in -
Wollaston, Township of Opted-in -
Windsor, City of Opted-in -
Chatsworth, Township of Opted-in -
The Archipelago, Township of Opted-in -
Huron-Kinloss, Township of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey