Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Otonabee-South Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Ottawa, City of Opted-in -
Owen Sound, City of Opted-in -
Papineau-Cameron, Township of Opted-out Tue, 11/27/2018
Parry Sound, Town of Opted-in -
Pelee, Township of Opted-in -
Pelham, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Pembroke, City of Opted-in -
Penetanguishene, Town of Opted-in -
Perry, Township of Opted-in -
Perth, Town of Opted-in -
Perth East, Township of Opted-in -
Perth South, Township of Opted-in -
Petawawa, Town of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
Petrolia, Town of Opted-in -
Pickering, City of Opted-in -
Pickle Lake, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Plummer Additional, Township of Opted-in -
Plympton-Wyoming, Town of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey