Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Point Edward, Village of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Port Colborne, City of Opted-in -
Port Hope, Municipality of Opted-in -
Powassan, Municipality of Opted-out Tue, 12/18/2018
Prescott, Town of Opted-in -
Prince, Township of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Puslinch, Township of Opted-in -
Quinte West, City of Opted-in -
Rainy River, Town of Opted-in -
Ramara, Township of Opted-in -
Red Lake, Municipality of Opted-in -
Red Rock, Township of Opted-in -
Renfrew, Town of Opted-in -
Richmond Hill, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Rideau Lakes, Township of Opted-in -
Russell, Township of Opted-in -
Ryerson, Township of Opted-in -
Sables-Spanish Rivers, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Sarnia, City of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey