Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Mulmur, Township of Opted-in -
Nairn and Hyman, Township of Opted-in -
Neebing, Municipality of Opted-in -
New Tecumseth, Town of Opted-in -
Newbury, Village of Opted-in -
Niagara Falls, City of Opted-in -
Nipigon, Township of Opted-in -
Nipissing, Township of Opted-in -
Norfolk County Opted-in -
North Algona Wilberforce, Township of Opted-in -
North Bay, City of Opted-in -
North Dumfries, Township of Opted-in -
North Dundas, Township of Opted-in -
North Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
North Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
North Grenville, Municipality of Opted-in -
North Kawartha, Township of Opted-in -
North Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
North Perth, Municipality of Opted-in -
North Stormont, Township of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey