Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -
O'Connor, Township of Opted-in -
Oil Springs, Village of Opted-in -
Oliver Paipoonge, Municipality of Opted-in -
Opasatika, Township of Opted-in -
Orangeville, Town of Opted-in -
Orillia, City of Opted-in -
Oshawa, City of Opted-in -
Otonabee-South Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Ottawa, City of Opted-in -
Owen Sound, City of Opted-in -
Parry Sound, Town of Opted-in -
Pelee, Township of Opted-in -
Pembroke, City of Opted-in -
Penetanguishene, Town of Opted-in -
Perry, Township of Opted-in -
Perth, Town of Opted-in -
Perth East, Township of Opted-in -
Perth South, Township of Opted-in -
Petawawa, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey