Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
Petrolia, Town of Opted-in -
Plummer Additional, Township of Opted-in -
Port Colborne, City of Opted-in -
Port Hope, Municipality of Opted-in -
Prescott, Town of Opted-in -
Prince, Township of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Puslinch, Township of Opted-in -
Quinte West, City of Opted-in -
Rainy River, Town of Opted-in -
Ramara, Township of Opted-in -
Red Lake, Municipality of Opted-in -
Red Rock, Township of Opted-in -
Renfrew, Town of Opted-in -
Rideau Lakes, Township of Opted-in -
Russell, Township of Opted-in -
Ryerson, Township of Opted-in -
Sarnia, City of Opted-in -
Saugeen Shores, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey