Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Georgian Bay, Township of Opted-in -
Horton, Township of Opted-in -
Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Opted-in -
Rainy River, Town of Opted-in -
Tudor and Cashel, Township of Opted-in -
Douro-Dummer, Township of Opted-in -
Ignace, Township of Opted-in -
Clarington, Municipality of Opted-in -
Pelee, Township of Opted-in -
Hilliard, Township of Opted-in -
Highlands East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Greater Madawaska, Township of Opted-in -
West Nipissing, Municipality of Opted-in -
Blind River, Town of Opted-in -
Cavan Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Erin, Town of Opted-in -
Stone Mills, Township of Opted-in -
Sundridge, Village of Opted-in -
Gordon/Barrie Island, Municipality of Opted-in -
Wasaga Beach, Town of Opted-in Mon, 01/07/2019


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey