List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Sort descending Date of resolution
South Bruce, Municipality of Opted-in
Ear Falls, Township of Opted-in
Hamilton, City of Opted-in
Schreiber, Township of Opted-in
Drummond/North Elmsley, Township of Opted-in
Howick, Township of Opted-in
Merrickville-Wolford, Village of Opted-in
South Huron, Municipality of Opted-in
Bruce Mines, Town of Opted-in
Wollaston, Township of Opted-in
Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls, Township of Opted-in
Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, Township of Opted-in
Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde, United Townships of Opted-in
Trent Hills, Municipality of Opted-in
Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Township of Opted-in
Aylmer, Town of Opted-in
Ajax, Town of Opted-in
Central Elgin, Municipality of Opted-in
Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Opted-in