List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Sort ascending Date of resolution
Seguin, Township of Opted-in
Sundridge, Village of Opted-in
Temiskaming Shores, City of Opted-in
South Stormont, Township of Opted-in
Malahide, Township of Opted-in
Schreiber, Township of Opted-in
Tudor and Cashel, Township of Opted-in
Spanish, Town of Opted-in
LaSalle, Town of Opted-in
North Algona Wilberforce, Township of Opted-in
Plummer Additional, Township of Opted-in
Georgina, Town of Opted-in
South Bruce, Municipality of Opted-in
Ear Falls, Township of Opted-in
Hamilton, City of Opted-in
Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, Township of Opted-in
Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde, United Townships of Opted-in
Drummond/North Elmsley, Township of Opted-in
Howick, Township of Opted-in