List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Date of resolution Sort descending
Thunder Bay, City of Opted-in
Petrolia, Town of Opted-in
Wawa, Municipality of Opted-in
Leeds and Grenville, United Counties of Opted-in
Armstrong, Township of Opted-in
Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards, Township of Opted-in
Waterloo, Regional Municipality of Opted-in
Montague, Township of Opted-in
Prescott and Russell, United Counties of Opted-in
Larder Lake, Township of Opted-in
Machar, Township of Opted-in
Central Elgin, Municipality of Opted-in
Trent Hills, Municipality of Opted-in
Guelph/Eramosa, Township of Opted-in
Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Township of Opted-in
Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Opted-in
Perth, County of Opted-in
Owen Sound, City of Opted-in
Aylmer, Town of Opted-in
Black River-Matheson, Township of Opted-in