List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Sort descending Date of resolution
Markham, City of Opted-out
Vaughan, City of Opted-out
East Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-out
Whitby, Town of Opted-out
Caledon, Town of Opted-out
Georgian Bluffs, Township of Opted-out
Newmarket, Town of Opted-out
Mono, Town of Opted-out
Dorion, Township of Opted-out
Point Edward, Village of Opted-out
Plympton-Wyoming, Town of Opted-out
Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan, Township of Opted-out
Grimsby, Town of Opted-out
Oakville, Town of Opted-out
Wainfleet, Township of Opted-out
Norwich, Township of Opted-out
Tyendinaga, Township of Opted-out
Lanark Highlands, Township of Opted-out
Sables-Spanish Rivers, Township of Opted-out
Papineau-Cameron, Township of Opted-out