List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Date of resolution Sort ascending
Magnetawan, Municipality of Opted-in
Midland, Town of Opted-in
Prescott, Town of Opted-in
Algonquin Highlands, Township of Opted-in
Ramara, Township of Opted-in
Harley, Township of Opted-in
Southwest Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in
Simcoe, County of Opted-in
Alberton, Township of Opted-in
Temagami, Municipality of Opted-in
Thames Centre, Municipality of Opted-in
Greater Sudbury, City of Opted-in
Guelph, City of Opted-in
Muskoka, District Municipality of Opted-in
Renfrew, Town of Opted-in
North Grenville, Municipality of Opted-in
Chatham-Kent, Municipality of Opted-in
Smooth Rock Falls, Town of Opted-in
La Vallee, Township of Opted-in
Fort Erie, Town of Opted-in