Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Hearst, Town of Opted-in -
Haldimand County Opted-in -
Cochrane, Town of Opted-in -
West Nipissing, Municipality of Opted-in -
North Bay, City of Opted-in -
South Algonquin, Township of Opted-in -
Pembroke, City of Opted-in -
Kearney, Town of Opted-in -
Dubreuilville, Township of Opted-in -
Elizabethtown-Kitley, Township of Opted-in -
Brampton, City of Opted-in -
Thorold, City of Opted-in -
Thames Centre, Municipality of Opted-in -
Wellington North, Township of Opted-in -
Hilton, Township of Opted-in -
Larder Lake, Township of Opted-in -
Minden Hills, Township of Opted-in -
Penetanguishene, Town of Opted-in -
Dawn-Euphemia, Township of Opted-in -
London, City of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey