Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Leamington, Municipality of Opted-in -
Chamberlain, Township of Opted-in -
Otonabee-South Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Uxbridge, Township of Opted-in -
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-in -
The Blue Mountains, Town of Opted-in -
Nipissing, Township of Opted-in -
Tudor and Cashel, Township of Opted-in -
Pelee, Township of Opted-in -
Temiskaming Shores, City of Opted-in -
Amherstburg, Town of Opted-in -
Lucan Biddulph, Township of Opted-in -
South-West Oxford, Township of Opted-in -
Hanover, Town of Opted-in -
Scugog, Township of Opted-in -
Port Colborne, City of Opted-in -
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -
Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Opted-in -
Greenstone, Municipality of Opted-in -
Renfrew, Town of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey