Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
St.-Charles, Municipality of Opted-in -
Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Opted-in -
Hastings Highlands, Municipality of Opted-in -
Ingersoll, Town of Opted-in -
Central Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
South Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
South River, Village of Opted-in -
Smiths Falls, Town of Opted-in -
Machin, Township of Opted-in -
Kenora, City of Opted-in -
Cochrane, Town of Opted-in -
West Nipissing, Municipality of Opted-in -
Johnson, Township of Opted-in -
North Bay, City of Opted-in -
South Algonquin, Township of Opted-in -
Kearney, Town of Opted-in -
Greater Sudbury, City of Opted-in -
Hearst, Town of Opted-in -
Haldimand County Opted-in -
Cornwall, City of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey