Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort ascending
Hilton Beach, Village of Opted-in -
Dryden, City of Opted-in -
Faraday, Township of Opted-in -
Hornepayne, Township of Opted-in -
Arran-Elderslie, Municipality of Opted-in -
Thessalon, Town of Opted-in -
White River, Township of Opted-in -
Stone Mills, Township of Opted-in -
Huron Shores, Municipality of Opted-in -
The North Shore, Township of Opted-in -
Carleton Place, Town of Opted-in -
Hawkesbury, Town of Opted-in -
Mulmur, Township of Opted-in -
Edwardsburgh/Cardinal, Township of Opted-in -
Schreiber, Township of Opted-in -
Mississippi Mills, Municipality of Opted-in -
North Stormont, Township of Opted-in -
Chisholm, Township of Opted-in -
Midland, Town of Opted-in -
Bruce Mines, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey