Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
North Kawartha, Township of Opted-in -
St. Marys, Town of Opted-in -
Horton, Township of Opted-in -
North Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Englehart, Town of Opted-in -
Tweed, Municipality of Opted-in -
St. Catharines, City of Opted-in -
Perth, Town of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Montague, Township of Opted-in -
Huron East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Brockville, City of Opted-in -
Greater Madawaska, Township of Opted-in -
Meaford, Municipality of Opted-in -
Southwest Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
Cramahe, Township of Opted-in -
Orillia, City of Opted-in -
Billings, Township of Opted-in -
Augusta, Township of Opted-in -
North Huron, Township of Opted-in Mon, 01/21/2019


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey