Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
St. Marys, Town of Opted-in -
Englehart, Town of Opted-in -
Tweed, Municipality of Opted-in -
St. Catharines, City of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Montague, Township of Opted-in -
Perth, Town of Opted-in -
Huron East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Greater Madawaska, Township of Opted-in -
Brockville, City of Opted-in -
Meaford, Municipality of Opted-in -
Southwest Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
Cramahe, Township of Opted-in -
Orillia, City of Opted-in -
Billings, Township of Opted-in -
Augusta, Township of Opted-in -
Mississauga, City of Opted-in -
Nairn and Hyman, Township of Opted-in -
North Huron, Township of Opted-in Mon, 01/21/2019
Leamington, Municipality of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey