Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Gananoque, Town of Opted-in -
Lucan Biddulph, Township of Opted-in -
Hanover, Town of Opted-in -
Rideau Lakes, Township of Opted-in -
Port Colborne, City of Opted-in -
The Blue Mountains, Town of Opted-in -
Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Opted-in -
Tudor and Cashel, Township of Opted-in -
Pelham, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
East Hawkesbury, Township of Opted-out Mon, 01/14/2019
Bluewater, Municipality of Opted-out Mon, 12/17/2018
Ingersoll, Town of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Harris, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Northern Bruce Peninsula, Municipality of Opted-out Mon, 12/03/2018
Southwold, Township of Opted-out Mon, 01/14/2019
East Zorra-Tavistock, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Lanark Highlands, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Caledon, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/22/2019
Whitby, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Tyendinaga, Township of Opted-out Fri, 01/11/2019


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey