Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Charlton and Dack, Municipality of Opted-in -
Assiginack, Township of Opted-in -
Rainy River, Town of Opted-in -
Dawson, Township of Opted-in -
Chamberlain, Township of Opted-in -
Harley, Township of Opted-in -
Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh, Township of Opted-in -
Renfrew, Town of Opted-in -
Minto, Town of Opted-in -
Greenstone, Municipality of Opted-in -
Pelee, Township of Opted-in -
Tiny, Township of Opted-in -
Opasatika, Township of Opted-in -
Gordon/Barrie Island, Municipality of Opted-in -
Addington Highlands, Township of Opted-in -
Smooth Rock Falls, Town of Opted-in -
Shuniah, Municipality of Opted-in -
Enniskillen, Township of Opted-in -
Thornloe, Village of Opted-in -
Kerns, Township of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey