Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Drummond/North Elmsley, Township of Opted-in -
Edwardsburgh/Cardinal, Township of Opted-in -
Perry, Township of Opted-in -
Collingwood, Town of Opted-in -
Wawa, Municipality of Opted-in -
Wilmot, Township of Opted-in -
Perth East, Township of Opted-in -
Thunder Bay, City of Opted-in -
Bracebridge, Town of Opted-in -
Pembroke, City of Opted-in -
Latchford, Town of Opted-in -
North Grenville, Municipality of Opted-in -
Moosonee, Town of Opted-in -
Malahide, Township of Opted-in -
Espanola, Town of Opted-in -
Petrolia, Town of Opted-in -
Kingsville, Town of Opted-in -
Welland, City of Opted-in -
Larder Lake, Township of Opted-in -
Oliver Paipoonge, Municipality of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey