Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
McDougall, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Severn, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Vaughan, City of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Pelham, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Marmora and Lake, Municipality of Opted-out Tue, 01/15/2019
Bluewater, Municipality of Opted-out Mon, 12/17/2018
Trent Hills, Municipality of Opted-in -
St.-Charles, Municipality of Opted-in -
Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Opted-in -
Hamilton, Township of Opted-in -
Central Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
St. Marys, Town of Opted-in -
South Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Tweed, Municipality of Opted-in -
South River, Village of Opted-in -
Smiths Falls, Town of Opted-in -
Cochrane, Town of Opted-in -
West Nipissing, Municipality of Opted-in -
Perth, Town of Opted-in -
North Bay, City of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey