Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
McMurrich/Monteith, Township of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
Highlands East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Madoc, Township of Opted-in -
Sioux Lookout, Municipality of Opted-in -
South Bruce Peninsula, Town of Opted-in -
Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde, United Townships of Opted-in -
Chatham-Kent, Municipality of Opted-in -
Central Manitoulin, Municipality of Opted-in -
Algonquin Highlands, Township of Opted-in -
Middlesex Centre, Municipality of Opted-in -
Lake of the Woods, Township of Opted-out Tue, 12/04/2018
Wainfleet, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Tay, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Matachewan, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/17/2019
Jocelyn, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Centre Wellington, Township of Opted-out Mon, 12/17/2018
Beckwith, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
East Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Oro-Medonte, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey