Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Kirkland Lake, Town of Opted-in -
Central Elgin, Municipality of Opted-in -
Westport, Village of Opted-in -
Neebing, Municipality of Opted-in -
Owen Sound, City of Opted-in -
Kingston, City of Opted-in -
Springwater, Township of Opted-in -
Tillsonburg, Town of Opted-in -
Clarence-Rockland, City of Opted-in -
North Dundas, Township of Opted-in -
Thessalon, Town of Opted-in -
White River, Township of Opted-in -
Stone Mills, Township of Opted-in -
Huron Shores, Municipality of Opted-in -
The North Shore, Township of Opted-in -
Carleton Place, Town of Opted-in -
Hawkesbury, Town of Opted-in -
Mulmur, Township of Opted-in -
Barrie, City of Opted-in -
Cobourg, Town of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey