Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Nipigon, Township of Opted-in -
Waterloo, City of Opted-in -
Coleman, Township of Opted-in -
North Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
Selwyn, Township of Opted-in -
St. Thomas, City of Opted-in -
Norfolk County Opted-in -
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in -
Sundridge, Village of Opted-in -
Aurora, Town of Opted-in -
Centre Hastings, Municipality of Opted-in -
Central Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
South Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Port Hope, Municipality of Opted-in -
South River, Village of Opted-in -
Smiths Falls, Town of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
Trent Hills, Municipality of Opted-in -
St.-Charles, Municipality of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey