Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in -
South Bruce, Municipality of Opted-in -
South Algonquin, Township of Opted-in -
Quinte West, City of Opted-in -
Johnson, Township of Opted-in -
Black River-Matheson, Township of Opted-in -
Chatsworth, Township of Opted-in -
Thunder Bay, City of Opted-in -
Springwater, Township of Opted-in -
Hilton Beach, Village of Opted-in -
East Garafraxa, Township of Opted-in -
Minto, Town of Opted-in -
Seguin, Township of Opted-in -
Essex, Town of Opted-in -
Latchford, Town of Opted-in -
Owen Sound, City of Opted-in -
South Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Callander, Municipality of Opted-in -
Montague, Township of Opted-in -
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey