Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -
Brant, County of Opted-in -
Faraday, Township of Opted-in -
Limerick, Township of Opted-in -
North Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
Madawaska Valley, Township of Opted-in -
Harley, Township of Opted-in -
Johnson, Township of Opted-in -
Central Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Guelph/Eramosa, Township of Opted-in -
Springwater, Township of Opted-in -
Woodstock, City of Opted-in -
French River, Municipality of Opted-in -
La Vallee, Township of Opted-in -
Iroquois Falls, Town of Opted-in -
Essex, Town of Opted-in -
Ear Falls, Township of Opted-in -
Bracebridge, Town of Opted-in -
Burlington, City of Opted-in -
North Bay, City of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey