Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort ascending
North Huron, Township of Opted-in Mon, 01/21/2019
Chapleau, Township of Opted-in Mon, 01/14/2019
Wasaga Beach, Town of Opted-in Mon, 01/07/2019
Arran-Elderslie, Municipality of Opted-in -
Welland, City of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
Brampton, City of Opted-in -
Huron Shores, Municipality of Opted-in -
Greenstone, Municipality of Opted-in -
Athens, Township of Opted-in -
Timmins, City of Opted-in -
Edwardsburgh/Cardinal, Township of Opted-in -
South River, Village of Opted-in -
Perry, Township of Opted-in -
North Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
North Stormont, Township of Opted-in -
Howick, Township of Opted-in -
Pickering, City of Opted-in -
Hamilton, Township of Opted-in -
Atikokan, Town of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey