Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Penetanguishene, Town of Opted-in -
Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Opted-in -
McMurrich/Monteith, Township of Opted-in -
Cambridge, City of Opted-in -
Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards, Township of Opted-in -
Wollaston, Township of Opted-in -
Hornepayne, Township of Opted-in -
Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde, United Townships of Opted-in -
Assiginack, Township of Opted-in -
Cochrane, Town of Opted-in -
Tweed, Municipality of Opted-in -
Oil Springs, Village of Opted-in -
Champlain, Township of Opted-in -
Casey, Township of Opted-in -
Terrace Bay, Township of Opted-in -
Trent Lakes, Municipality of Opted-in -
South Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
West Grey, Municipality of Opted-in -
Kerns, Township of Opted-in -
Huron East, Municipality of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey