Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
South Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
Moonbeam, Township of Opted-in -
Belleville, City of Opted-in -
Wellington North, Township of Opted-in -
Chamberlain, Township of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
East Ferris, Township of Opted-in -
Elliot Lake, City of Opted-in -
Tillsonburg, Town of Opted-in -
Macdonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional, Township of Opted-in -
Laird, Township of Opted-in -
Brooke-Alvinston, Municipality of Opted-in -
Cramahe, Township of Opted-in -
Whitewater Region, Township of Opted-in -
Ramara, Township of Opted-in -
Georgina, Town of Opted-in -
Limerick, Township of Opted-in -
Carleton Place, Town of Opted-in -
Central Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
Collingwood, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey