Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Westport, Village of Opted-in -
Loyalist, Township of Opted-in -
Edwardsburgh/Cardinal, Township of Opted-in -
Burpee and Mills, Township of Opted-in -
Middlesex Centre, Municipality of Opted-in -
Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh, Township of Opted-in -
Hamilton, Township of Opted-in -
La Vallee, Township of Opted-in -
London, City of Opted-in -
Dutton/Dunwich, Municipality of Opted-in -
Lucan Biddulph, Township of Opted-in -
Plummer Additional, Township of Opted-in -
Grand Valley, Town of Opted-in -
Midland, Town of Opted-in -
Goderich, Town of Opted-in -
Deep River, Town of Opted-in -
Niagara Falls, City of Opted-in -
North Dundas, Township of Opted-in -
Nairn and Hyman, Township of Opted-in -
Perth, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey