Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Milton, Town of Opted-in -
Red Lake, Municipality of Opted-in -
Perth South, Township of Opted-in -
St. Thomas, City of Opted-in -
South Stormont, Township of Opted-in -
Scugog, Township of Opted-in -
Brethour, Township of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Hilliard, Township of Opted-in -
Kawartha Lakes, City of Opted-in -
Huron Shores, Municipality of Opted-in -
Centre Hastings, Municipality of Opted-in -
Kingston, City of Opted-in -
Laurentian Hills, Town of Opted-in -
South River, Village of Opted-in -
Aylmer, Town of Opted-in -
Huron-Kinloss, Township of Opted-in -
Welland, City of Opted-in -
Augusta, Township of Opted-in -
Wasaga Beach, Town of Opted-in Mon, 01/07/2019


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey