Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Brooke-Alvinston, Municipality of Opted-in -
Bruce Mines, Town of Opted-in -
Burk's Falls, Village of Opted-in -
Burlington, City of Opted-in -
Burpee and Mills, Township of Opted-in -
Callander, Municipality of Opted-in -
Calvin, Municipality of Opted-in -
Cambridge, City of Opted-in -
Carleton Place, Town of Opted-in -
Carling, Township of Opted-in -
Carlow/Mayo, Township of Opted-in -
Casey, Township of Opted-in -
Cavan Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Central Elgin, Municipality of Opted-in -
Central Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Central Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
Central Manitoulin, Municipality of Opted-in -
Centre Hastings, Municipality of Opted-in -
Chamberlain, Township of Opted-in -
Champlain, Township of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey