Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Penetanguishene, Town of Opted-in -
Fort Frances, Town of Opted-in -
Woolwich, Township of Opted-in -
Brockton, Municipality of Opted-in -
Machin, Township of Opted-in -
Petawawa, Town of Opted-in -
Dawson, Township of Opted-in -
South Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Thames Centre, Municipality of Opted-in -
St. Marys, Town of Opted-in -
Assiginack, Township of Opted-in -
Rideau Lakes, Township of Opted-in -
West Perth, Municipality of Opted-in -
Oil Springs, Village of Opted-in -
Tay Valley, Township of Opted-in -
Morris-Turnberry, Municipality of Opted-in -
Kenora, City of Opted-in -
Cambridge, City of Opted-in -
Otonabee-South Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
Grey Highlands, Municipality of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey