Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Opted-in -
Smiths Falls, Town of Opted-in -
Rainy River, Town of Opted-in -
Gore Bay, Town of Opted-in -
Powassan, Municipality of Opted-in -
Sioux Lookout, Municipality of Opted-in -
Fort Frances, Town of Opted-in -
Clarington, Municipality of Opted-in -
Brighton, Municipality of Opted-in -
Mulmur, Township of Opted-in -
Greater Madawaska, Township of Opted-in -
Wollaston, Township of Opted-in -
Strong, Township of Opted-in -
Tudor and Cashel, Township of Opted-in -
Rideau Lakes, Township of Opted-in -
Erin, Town of Opted-in -
Essa, Township of Opted-in -
Huron-Kinloss, Township of Opted-in -
Woolwich, Township of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey