Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Cramahe, Township of Opted-in -
Perry, Township of Opted-in -
Assiginack, Township of Opted-in -
Wellington North, Township of Opted-in -
Huron East, Municipality of Opted-in -
East Garafraxa, Township of Opted-in -
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in -
Oil Springs, Village of Opted-in -
Elliot Lake, City of Opted-in -
Latchford, Town of Opted-in -
Temiskaming Shores, City of Opted-in -
Black River-Matheson, Township of Opted-in -
Waterloo, City of Opted-in -
Grey Highlands, Municipality of Opted-in -
Orillia, City of Opted-in -
Pembroke, City of Opted-in -
Belleville, City of Opted-in -
Temagami, Municipality of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
Essa, Township of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey