Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Grimsby, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Harris, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Ingersoll, Town of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
James, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Jocelyn, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Killarney, Municipality of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
King, Township of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Lake of the Woods, Township of Opted-out Tue, 12/04/2018
Lanark Highlands, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Mapleton, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Markham, City of Opted-out Wed, 12/12/2018
Markstay-Warren, Municipality of Opted-out Thu, 01/17/2019
Matachewan, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/17/2019
McDougall, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
McGarry, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
McKellar, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Melancthon, Township of Opted-out Thu, 12/20/2018
Mono, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Muskoka Lakes, Township of Opted-out Fri, 01/18/2019
Newmarket, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/15/2019

Pages

Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey