Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
McKellar, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Melancthon, Township of Opted-out Thu, 12/20/2018
Mississauga, City of Opted-out Wed, 12/12/2018
Mono, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Muskoka Lakes, Township of Opted-out Fri, 01/18/2019
Newmarket, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/15/2019
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Town of Opted-out Mon, 12/17/2018
North Huron, Township of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Northern Bruce Peninsula, Municipality of Opted-out Mon, 12/03/2018
Norwich, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Oakville, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/14/2019
Oro-Medonte, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Papineau-Cameron, Township of Opted-out Tue, 11/27/2018
Pelham, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Pickering, City of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Pickle Lake, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Plympton-Wyoming, Town of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Point Edward, Village of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Powassan, Municipality of Opted-out Tue, 12/18/2018
Richmond Hill, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019

Pages

Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey