Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Leamington, Municipality of Opted-in -
Blind River, Town of Opted-in -
Otonabee-South Monaghan, Township of Opted-in -
North Huron, Township of Opted-in Mon, 01/21/2019
Orillia, City of Opted-in -
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in -
Bayham, Municipality of Opted-in -
Amherstburg, Town of Opted-in -
Waterloo, City of Opted-in -
South-West Oxford, Township of Opted-in -
Shelburne, Town of Opted-in -
Selwyn, Township of Opted-in -
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-in -
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
North Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Ottawa, City of Opted-in -
Mattice-Val Côté, Township of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
Iroquois Falls, Town of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey