Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Waterloo, City of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Montague, Township of Opted-in -
Selwyn, Township of Opted-in -
Huron East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Greater Madawaska, Township of Opted-in -
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in -
Meaford, Municipality of Opted-in -
Newmarket, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/15/2019
Grimsby, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Mississauga, City of Opted-out Wed, 12/12/2018
Papineau-Cameron, Township of Opted-out Tue, 11/27/2018
Dorion, Township of Opted-out Tue, 12/18/2018
Amaranth, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/16/2019
Killarney, Municipality of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Baldwin, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/17/2019
Lake of the Woods, Township of Opted-out Tue, 12/04/2018
Emo, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Tay, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Georgian Bluffs, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey