Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Brockton, Municipality of Opted-in -
Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Opted-in -
North Perth, Municipality of Opted-in -
Central Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
Smooth Rock Falls, Town of Opted-in -
Burpee and Mills, Township of Opted-in -
Merrickville-Wolford, Village of Opted-in -
South River, Village of Opted-in -
Brantford, City of Opted-in -
Central Manitoulin, Municipality of Opted-in -
Addington Highlands, Township of Opted-in -
St.-Charles, Municipality of Opted-in -
La Vallee, Township of Opted-in -
Ingersoll, Town of Opted-in -
North Dumfries, Township of Opted-in -
South Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Ramara, Township of Opted-in -
Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde, United Townships of Opted-in -
Morris-Turnberry, Municipality of Opted-in -
Smiths Falls, Town of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey