List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Date of resolution Sort ascending
Caledon, Town of Opted-out
Grimsby, Town of Opted-out
North Huron, Township of Opted-in
Whitby, Town of Opted-out
Vaughan, City of Opted-out
Pelham, Town of Opted-out
Markstay-Warren, Municipality of Opted-out
Matachewan, Township of Opted-out
Baldwin, Township of Opted-out
Amaranth, Township of Opted-out
Chapple, Township of Opted-out
Newmarket, Town of Opted-out
Oakville, Town of Opted-out
Southwold, Township of Opted-out
East Hawkesbury, Township of Opted-out
Chapleau, Township of Opted-in
Tyendinaga, Township of Opted-out
James, Township of Opted-out
Norwich, Township of Opted-out
McDougall, Township of Opted-out