List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Sort descending Date of resolution
Calvin, Municipality of Opted-in
Burlington, City of Opted-in
Brock, Township of Opted-in
Hastings Highlands, Municipality of Opted-in
St. Joseph, Township of Opted-in
Clarence-Rockland, City of Opted-in
Front of Yonge, Township of Opted-in
Perth, Town of Opted-in
South Dundas, Municipality of Opted-in
Muskoka Lakes, Township of Opted-in
Brockville, City of Opted-in
Moosonee, Town of Opted-in
Red Rock, Township of Opted-in
Trent Lakes, Municipality of Opted-in
Essa, Township of Opted-in
Hanover, Town of Opted-in
Petawawa, Town of Opted-in
Barrie, City of Opted-in
North Perth, Municipality of Opted-in
Mattice-Val Côté, Township of Opted-in